6 sketch models

Last week we began looking at how to create sketch models and for our self directed work we each had to choose 6 different things to make into a sketch model. We could take inspiration from objects, paintings, buildings/spaces or a video; anything that inspires or interests us.

I chose to focus some of my sketch models around buildings as I really like architecture and thought it would be good to pick 3 buildings from 3 different cities that I have visited/lived in.

The first model I made was taken from a building in Nottingham (which is where I’m from) by architect Watson Fothergill. He has many buildings located around the city but the one I chose is a particular favourite of mine and I have drawn it before for a previous art project. I focused on the turret on the side of the building when making my model, rather than trying to produce the entire building!

Image source

I made my sketch model out of cardboard and UHU glue. I had decided recently that I wouldn’t make sketch models with UHU glue anymore and instead use masking tape, but I felt for this model that UHU glue was better as it held the pieces together more efficiently than tape would. I think as well that the masking tape might’ve ruined the look of the model.

We were told, when making sketch models in the studio, to reproduce, interpret and respond to the images we were shown, hence each model did not have to be an exact representation of the building or object shown. The idea of a sketch model is for the designer to convey his or her idea through it and all designers have different ways of thinking of things and a different idea of how best to translate their ideas into 3D form. So for some of the sketch models I made I tried to simply reproduce what I saw whereas for others I only interpreted or responded to the subject. For this first one I reproduced the building as best as I could.

The next model I did was of a building in Sheffield and I finished this much sooner as it was a very rough interpretation of the building. Originally I was going to leave the model as a flat piece of paper with the holes in but I decided the model needed to look more 3D so I folded it into a cuboid shape. I think if I were to redo this model as just a flat piece of paper I would need to include more flaps to represent the scale of the actual building and to be a bit more precise with the layout of the flaps. This model was definitely more of an interpretation of the building rather than a reproduction.

Image source

My third model represents the structure of some of the buildings I have seen in Brugge, Belgium. I’ve always loved the design of the buildings there and so chose this as my third city; I have been to Brugge on holiday several times and I think it is the buildings there that make me love it so much! For this model I used a cereal box and UHU glue again. I think this model is another interpretation model rather than a reproduction.

Image source

The next 3 models I did weren’t linked and I partly wish I had continued with choosing buildings from my 3 favourite cities. However, I tried to keep them still personal to me so for my next model I chose to respond to a painting by an artist I admire.

Image source

The artist is called Leonid Afremov and he paints in very bright colours and often depicts lonely pathways or streets. His trees are always very bold and usually autumnal, so I chose to respond to his paintings by creating a collage type model. I spent a long time on this one and so I feel like it’s not really a sketch model or even a 3D representation of the painting. However, I enjoyed the process and being able to use colour. I cut out pieces from magazines for this and used lots of UHU glue!

My 5th model also took me quite a while as it was fairly fiddly. I chose to depict an interior for this one and got my inspiration from Pinterest. The room is a tiled indoor roman pool at Hearst Castle and I find the architecture and the colour breathtaking to look at. I tried to capture the glossiness of the room in my model by making it out of a see-through material. I used used square shaped gems to represent the tiling.

7087211539_d1fd7e8c91_b

The Roman Pool at Hearst Castle, California – Image source

I used a plastic bottle as I felt the shape of it reflected the shape of the room well and also the ridges inside it can represent the arches on the ceiling of the room. I stuck the blue gems down with UHU glue and did them just up to the sides to mimic water moving. I tried to make it feel as though you were actually in the room when looking through the model but naturally it’s nowhere near as stunning!

My final model was another reproduction of a building. I chose a pagoda as it felt this was an interesting shape and I’ve always liked the unique architectural quality that pagodas have.

Image source

For this model I used paper and card and stuck it together with masking tape. I was originally going to make it all in white paper but then I found some red card that I thought made it a bit prettier! I used the picture of the pagoda as more of a guideline so I suppose this model is a mix of a reproduction and interpretation of the pagoda.

I feel slightly more comfortable with making models after this exercise but I still believe I’m a long way off feeling like a confident model maker!

Leave a Reply

